Love and Loss

I know that with a new blog I should be posting often and I had originally planned to post about every other day, but sometimes things do not go the way we plan.

We lost our Maxx on Tuesday morning, he passed away after a short illness.

maxxysun1 Actually, it wasn’t a short illness – we just didn’t know he was sick.

He started acting a little strange on Saturday night, but we didn’t think much of it. Then Sunday we knew he was not feeling well, so we planned for him to see the Vet on Monday.  Monday the Vet came to see him and found that he had a large tumor on his spleen and based on his symptoms he determined that it had spread to his liver. The liver takes up the slack for the damaged part for as long as it can and then when it becomes too much it stops working and the dog goes downhill quickly. There was nothing we could do.

We thought we had a few days with him and planned to put him to sleep when it was time but he died at 6:45 Tuesday morning. We were with him when he went, and we pet him and comforted him as he passed.

maxx1

He was so full of energy and life- we never saw this coming and we are devastated. He was everything to us. It all happened so fast. He was so young- he would have been 7 in August.

0704-05

So now we are just trying to make it through the day. I don’t know what will become of this blog, I had such plans. Maybe I will pick it back up in a while but right now it’s just too much for me to handle. I know there aren’t many people who follow me but I thought I should let you know why I’m not posting.

08312012

Maxx doing what he loves – playing fetch.

06012009 Portrait of a handsome puppy.

 Below: Sleeping Maxxmaxxsleep1

So please, hug your loved ones and tell them you love them, you never know when they will be gone. We loved our little guy so much and gave him the best life we possibly could and he gave us so much love and fun in return. It hurts so much right now but having him in our lives for the past 6 and a half years is worth all the pain that we are going through now.

I just wish he was here.

 

Leave a Reply

